* Kelly’s Thoughts for the Day..

21 Jan

Will the NS ever get its act together? I used to enjoy my daily commute to work but the constant delays and cancellations over the past few weeks are slowly getting to me. Can a week go by without any significant delays, wisselstoringen or seinstoringen?? You can’t even blame it on the snow this time.

And I’m pretty sure that the lady who makes the announcements is being  less than sincere. “Onze excuses voor het ongemaak”? Something tells me you don’t really care about us poor souls standing in the cold.. *sniff*

Oooo, and I must remember to post those photos that I took at the Chinese Festival of Lights. Something to add to my ever-increasing “To Do” list..

Author’s Note : As chance would have it, I didn’t have a single delay either to or from work yesterday. Keep it up, NS!

5 Responses to “* Kelly’s Thoughts for the Day..”

  1. Invader_Stu January 22, 2010 at 2:17 PM #

    NS has let me down so much lately. It’s just not the same between us any more.

  2. Orangesplaash January 23, 2010 at 2:16 PM #

    NS and delay have become synonymous since quite some time now..delays due to snow, accidents, work going on etc have become very common. And yes, one sould not talk about the snow at all!!

    • Kelly January 23, 2010 at 4:58 PM #

      Orangesplaash – I have to say I’m very concerned to see how many trains are cancelled by an “aanrijding met een persoon”. You really have to wonder how many of these are accidents (people trying to cross at level-crossings or falling off the platform) and how many are caused by people committing suicide. I check the “storingen” page every day before I leave work and there seems to be at least one “aanrijding” every week. It’s quite unnerving..

      Stu – Sounds like the two of you grew apart. My condolences. 😉

  3. Tiffany February 11, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

    Argh, I know! They JUST started running longer trains again. How dumb do you have to be to make the trains shorter when the crowds are heavier because of all the delays? And the worst part – I agree – is that, for the longest time, weather was not a good excuse

    • Kelly February 11, 2010 at 9:40 PM #

      Tiffany – They do the same thing in summer during the “vakantieperiod”. There really isn’t any logic to it! First of all, not everyone has the chance (or desire) to go on a three-week camping holiday so there are still a LOT of people who need to get to and from work. Second, a lot of families travel on the trains during the summer months and many of them seem to think that travelling during rush hour is a smart idea (it really isn’t). And lastly, replacing the normal trains with shorter ones is just a recipe for disaster, especially when they used those carriages which don’t have windows you can open. Cramped and smelly are not what you need after a busy day at the office.. :p

Leave a comment